Black Hills State Logo Black Hills State

Larscheid Memorial Golf Tournament Raises Funds for Track and Field

Larscheid Memorial Golf Tournament Raises Funds for Track and Field

SPEARFISH, S.D. – The 14th annual Mark Larscheid Memorial Golf Tournament recently wrapped up at the Spearfish Canyon Country Club, an event that supports scholarships for the Black Hills State University track and field team.

The tournament is held in memory of Black Hills State Hall of Fame track and football athlete, Mark Larscheid, who lost his life in a traffic accident in 2000. The first tournament was held in 2001 with the first scholarship being awarded in the 2002-03 academic year.

The 2014-15 scholarship recipient is Trisha Koch, who competes in the multi events for the Yellow Jackets.

"My family and I are blessed to have so many friends that love to remember Mark by playing in the Mark Larscheid Memorial Golf Tournament," event organizer Mary Larscheid-Christensen said. "It is a great testimony to the kind of person Mark was in the minds of people that attend each year to support his scholarship and memory."

The 2014 tournament had 116 golfers and 150 attendees at the dinner following. The tournament awarded winners in three divisions. The men's division winners were Shane Larscheid, Rob Kortan Tyson Hazledine and Josh Caffee. The mixed division winners were Bart Pautz, Frank Pautz, Faith Pautz and Wes Gleason. The women's division winners were Nancy Neiber, Mary Larscheid-Christensen, Shawn Mechling and Pam Weiland.

The endowment of more than $45,000 is the sixth-largest athletic endowment at Black Hills State University.

Awarding the scholarship not only allows the track and field team to recruit top athletes but also gives the Larscheid family a chance to meet the student-athletes.

"We met the scholarship winner at the scholarship banquet this year and got to have dinner with her," Mary said. "It was a great way to grow a connection."

The tournament also had a display of the 2013-14 scholarship recipient, Rachel Hellekson, sporting a photo of the past year's winner and details about the student-athlete.

"I hope that every student-athlete that receives the Mark Larscheid Memorial Scholarship recognizes the opportunity it is to be a student-athlete at such a great university," Mary added.